The Eight Wonders Of The World You Must See Before You Die

Over the several millions of years of mankind’s walk on the face of the earth, so much destruction has been left in the wake of his endless trodding but so have beautiful creations been brought forth from his endless search for a better life. Buildings such as monuments, tombs, churches, mosques and temples built by men before us continue to stand strong and left us awe struck struck

Taj Mahal, India

Taj Mahal in India.

The Taj Mahal located in the ancient city of Agra is a well known across the world for his historical value, tale of love and architectural beauty. It is said to house the tomb of Mumtaz Mahal, wife of the Mughal Emperor, Shah Jahan. The magnificent edifice stands as a testament of the great love the Emperor had for his wife as it is said he built it for her upon her death. It is said to have been completed in 1632 and took 17 years to do so after the hands of 22,000 labourers, stonecutters, painters, embroidery artists and 1000 elephants were employed in it’s construction. It is also said to cost and estimated equivalent of US$827 million today.

Great Pyramid Of Giza, Egypt

The Pyramids of Giza in Egypt.

The Giza Pyramid Complex is made up of three pyramids, the largest and oldest of which is the Great Pyramid of Giza. Egyptologists estimate that this pyramid took 10 to 20 years to build and was completed around 2560 BC. The Great Pyramid of Giza was the world’s highest structure for almost 3,800 years, until it was surpassed by modern-day skyscrapers. Engineers and architects from all over the world have been perplexed by how the Pyramid was built in the absence of contemporary infrastructure. The tomb of Khufu, the Egyptian pharaoh of the Fourth Dynasty, is housed within the pyramid.

The Great Wall Of China, China

The Great Wall of China.

The Great Wall of China, a popular tourist destination around the world, is noted for its uniqueness, length, and historical significance. It is also considered to be one of the world’s seven wonders. The Great Wall of China has been linked to Chinese history for thousands of years.

Beginning as early as the 7th century BCE, Chinese emperors and states constructed a series of walls over a long period of time. The wall was built with the help of over 20 dynasties/states. The Great Wall of China was formed by joining these barriers together. It was more than a wall; it was a fortification with watchtowers, beacon towers, ditches, and other features built at regular intervals to protect against enemy forces. The Great Wall of China is officially 21,196.18 kilometers long (13,170.7 mi). However, throughout time, over a third of the Great Wall has vanished. In 1987, UNESCO designated the site as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Colosseum, Italy

The Colosseum in Italy.

The Colosseum, one of the world’s seven wonders, is located in Rome, Italy. The Colosseum, also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, is an oval-shaped amphitheater in the city’s center. It is the world’s largest amphitheater, constructed of concrete and sand. Emperor Vespasian began construction on the Colosseum in AD 72, and his successor, Titus, completed it by AD 80. Later emperors of the Flavian dynasty, such as Domitian, made changes to the amphitheater. This majestic building was built with the help of tens of thousands of slaves. At the time of its construction, the Colosseum could hold 80,000 spectators and had 80 entrances.

Chichen Itza, Mexico

Chichen Itza in Mexico.

Chichen Itza is an archaeological site in the Mexican state of Yucatán. It is a pre-Columbian city created by the Maya people during the Terminal Classic period. The temples, arcades, and pyramids of Chichen Itza were sacred to the ancient Maya people. Chichen Itza is thought to have been one of the ancient Mayan world’s great towns, with structures displaying a wide range of architectural styles.

Machu Picchu, Peru

The archeological site of Machu Pichu in Peru.

Machu Picchu is one of the world’s seven wonders and a dream destination for millions of travelers all over the world. It’s in Peru’s Machupicchu District, in the Cusco Region. According to the majority of archaeologists, Machu Picchu was established as an estate around 1450 by Inca ruler Pachacuti. The place grew into a city before being abandoned after the Spanish Conquest a century later. Until Hiram Bingham, an American explorer, discovered the location, it was mostly unknown to the rest of the world. According to a new proposal, Machu Pichu may have been the final stop on the Incas’ traditional pilgrimage route.

Petra, Jordan

The archeological site of Petra in Jordan.

Petra, a Jordanian wonder, is also one of the world’s seven wonders. Petra is also known as the “Rose City” because of the color of the stone from which it is sculpted. It is a must-see tourist site because of its great archaeological, historical, and architectural worth. The ancient city’s two most prominent features are the water conduit system and the rock-cut architecture. The ancient Nabataeans’ water conduit system contributed to the development of a thriving city in the desert. The Royal Tombs, which are huge mausoleums with spectacular carved-in-rock façade, are a prominent draw in Petra.

Christ The Redeemer, Brazil

Christ the Redeemer Statue in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The Art Deco styled statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro is one of the world’s seven wonders and one of Brazil’s most distinctive icons. Paul Landowski, a French sculptor, is credited with creating the statue. Gheorghe Leonida, a Romanian sculptor, was in charge of creating the face. The sculpture cost a total of $250,000, which was raised through donations from people all around Brazil.

Christ the Redeemer stands 98 feet tall, with a pedestal that stands 26 feet tall. Its arms are 92 feet long and 92 feet wide. The figure, which weighs 635 tons and is composed of soapstone and concrete, stands atop the 2,300-foot-high Corcovado mountain. The statue’s construction began in 1922 and was completed in 1931. It is the world’s largest sculpture in the art deco style. It is not, however, the world’s largest Christ statue. Couples can marry in the chapel at the base of the monument, which the Catholic Church designated as a sanctuary in 2006. The statue has appeared in a number of Hollywood films.

Similar Articles


Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner